BHLDN Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At BHLDN
Shop Sale or
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products

Customer Reviews for BHLDN Pinwheel Tea Dress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at BHLDN.

BHLDN Pinwheel Tea Dress

Looking for a dress that lives up to your level of sass? We present to you this little firecracker, made of lustrous-yet-slubby silk dupioni (in the most covetable shade of buttercream), with a pleated bodice, swirling pinwheel appliqués, and countless layers of tulle with side pockets. A Hitherto original, made exclusively for BHLDN. Hidden side zip. Professionally clean. Imported. This silhouette is fitted through the bodice. For best fit, size to the curvier of your bust and waist measurements. Can be shortened; using an experienced bridal tailor is recommended Interior stretch corset with boning and bust cups Silk shell Silk-cotton lining; nylon tulle and horsehair hemline All gowns require an additional shipping charge of $15 See fit guide for detailed sizing information We recommend pairing this dress with a veil in Candlelight
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pinwheel Tea Dress
Review 1 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
Fit:
As expected
By: Kaitlyn
Date:November 11, 2013
Location:Wisconsin
Age:26-30
Style:Bohemian: Layered & Quirky
Height:5'3"

In LOVE with this dress

This dress is as stunning in person as it is in photos! The color is beautiful and the details are absolutely stunning. It is a very flattering silhouette and the quality of the materials is undeniable.
The dress is pretty true to size. I wear a 6 in street clothes and ordered a 6 in this dress. The straps will need to be shortened a little to fit my frame but otherwise it is a good fit.
The only issue that I have with the dress is the length. I am 5'3" and the dress is almost ankle length on me (the joys of being short!) - I'm hopeful that I can find a seamstress to shorten the length without losing any of the dresses beautiful details....
+5points
5 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 2 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
Fit:
As expected
By: norah
Date:October 10, 2013
Age:26-30
Body Type:Curvy all over
Height:5'7"

Amazing Dress

The color of this dress is beautiful. The fit is great. It is well made and very flattering. I recommend steaming the dress before trying it on if you've had it shipped. When trying it on straight out of the box it is very stiff and the shape is a bit off. I ordered a size 6 and it fits perfect my measurements are bust 36" and waist 28.5". The length hits between mid to upper calf on me. I love that it has pockets!
+6points
6 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 3 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
Fit:
Much smaller than expected
User submitted photo
By: april202
Date:September 17, 2013
Location:dc
Age:36-40
Body Type:Straight and narrow
Style:Classic: Tailored & Timeless
Height:5'8"

Said Yes to the Dress

This is the dress! It is beautiful, elegant, and refined. But it does run small. I am a 32.5-33 bust. I ordered the 0 first because that was the closest to the size to my measurements, but had to exchange it for a 2. It is still a little tight.
The tule under slip is very stiff and scratchy, but I also have very sensitive skin. Additionally, the lining doesn't go to the bottom of the tule, which means is scratches my legs. I will most likely have it replaced or additional lining added.
But this dress lives up to many of the reviews.
+3points
4 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 4 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
Fit:
As expected
By: vintageOCD
Date:August 20, 2013
Location:McLean, VA
Age:31-35
Body Type:Smaller on bottom
Style:Classic: Tailored & Timeless
Height:5'3"

too long for my height but beautiful

I can't believe how fast the shipping was. I ordered around noon yesterday and got it when i came back from work today and it was just regular shipping!! The quality of the dress itself is simply amazing, especially to me, after being traumatized at David's bridal with those scratchy polyester dresses. I'm 5'3", 37 in the chest, 30 in the waist and ordered a size 6. The upper body part fits like a glove but it is waaaaay too long. Instead of mid calve, it's pretty much ankle length for me. It'll be so cute if the bottom can be chopped off for about 5in.
+6points
7 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 5 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall rating 
Fit:
Much smaller than expected
By: QTLA
Date:June 5, 2013
Location:Seattle
Age:31-35
Style:Contemporary: Distinctive & Clean-cut
Height:5'5"

Lovely, but not true to fit guide

I ordered an 8 which should have been right on according to the fit guide measurements, and I was told it ran a bit big I figured taking it in is easier than taking it out.
This was definitely true in the waist, which was loose on me, but the bust could not be zipped by a good inch plus. I'm not super busty and measured in at 37 inches. It was also very long on me which I expected- lower mid-calf.
This would be lovely dress for someone with a different shape. The construction and fabric were lovely.
+2points
2 people found this helpful, did you?
Response from BHLDNStylistsJune 6, 2013
Hello there! The fit guide is specific to this dress so based upon your bust measurement, the size 8 should fit! If you ever have questions about fit, please reach out to style@bhldn.com as we can recommend the best size for you!
Review 6 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: Christina
Date:March 26, 2012
Location:NYC
Age:31-35
Body Type:Smaller on top
Height:5'7"

Adorable Dress: Well made

I received the Pinwheel dress last week and I tried it on immediately. The dress was packaged so nicely with a heavy bag and hanger. The sewing and craftsmanship is very excellent. Rare find these days. I love the back of the dress and the applique detail along the hem. I ordered a size smaller than I normally buy because Sara, the stylist, said it runs large. This was good advice. It fits a bit snug under my bust but when I pushed the shoulders out to the tips of my shoulder blades, the whole dress fell perfectly. It may take a few tries to get the fabric to lay flat when you zip it up. There are a lot of layers in bodice. Make sure when you try it on, you push the shoulders out a bit, just like the way the model is wearing it in order for the dress to hang correctly. I can't WAIT to wear this dress and accessorize it with some vintage details. It has just the right amount of quirkiness and elegance. :)
+9points
9 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 7 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: minervathena
Date:February 19, 2012
Location:San Francisco, CA
Age:Under 25
Body Type:Curvy all over
Height:5'3"

Love.

The first time I saw this dress a year ago, I knew it was the one for me. Being a non-tall, non-thin person with ample curves, I was able to finally try it on with the assistance of the personal stylist service - and it was a perfect fit. I did have to size up a little bit to accommodate my largest measurement (ahem, bosom), but the fit was just right the first try. With a bit of hemming, this dress will be good to go on my wedding day, and I can't thank the stylists at BHLDN enough for being honest about their feedback!
+15points
15 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 8 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
By: Tory
Date:January 23, 2012
Location:Colorado
Age:36-40
Body Type:Smaller on top
Height:5'8"

Not for me...

I love everything about this dress! The style, the ruching, offset straps, the pinwheels, the big beautiful bow, fabric, poofiness, everything!
I got it home and put it on and it just hung there... It did not flatter my figure at all. I was disappointed, but found just what I was looking for in the Beribboned Dress (with the addition of a crinoline slip).
+7points
7 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 9 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: MoltenLava
Date:November 12, 2011
Location:California
Age:31-35
Body Type:Smaller on top
Height:5'6"

Perfect fit on the second try

After months of searching for the perfect dress and being repeatedly drawn to this one, I finally took the plunge and ordered it. I ordered based on the size chart. Unfortunately, I had to return the first one as it was WAY to big on the top. I reordered down two sizes after conferring with the stylist for a proper fit to my bust/waist. It was a perfect fit! I didn't mind the length, closer to mid than upper calf and I didn't have to have any alterations for the bust or waist. I wore it last weekend for my wedding and received endless compliments about my perfect dress!
+6points
6 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 10 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: jeanette
Date:November 3, 2011
Age:26-30
Body Type:Curvy all over
Height:5'4"

Beautiful, Unique, Well-Made Dress!

I fell in love with this dress the minute I saw it in a magazine, ordered it, and was not disappointed! The fabric is soft, though the tulle under the skirt was stiffer than I expected. It is easy to see that the dress is well-made, and I was particularly impressed with the details on the back of the dress, which are even more lovely in person. Also, pockets!!
The neckline is very flattering, and since the straps allow you to wear a regular bra, it perfect for someone like myself with a large bust (I'm a 34E).
The major drawbacks are the length and the waistline. If you're short (or even average height), you'll definitely need to get the dress hemmed. And the waistline makes you look a little thick if it doesn't fit exactly right. Both can be fixed with alterations, though.
+6points
6 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 11 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
User submitted photo
By: akka
Date:August 16, 2011
Age:26-30
Body Type:Curvy all over
Height:5'6"

Pretty, but not right for me

This was the first dress I picked out when the BHLDN website launched. And I might have loved it if it were three inches shorter (or I were three inches taller!). But the poufiness made it kind of hard to envision the alterations, and I ultimately wasn't in love with it enough to really consider altering. It was a little stiff and heavy for my outdoor Florida wedding, as well.
I should be a true size 10 by the measurement chart (38-30-39, 34D), but I think I could have sized down in this one.
+12points
13 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 12 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall rating 
By: fiona
Date:August 13, 2011
Age:26-30
Body Type:Smaller on top
Height:5'2"

Not for petite women

I'm 5'2", 108lbs, and this dress was very overwhelming for my frame. Perhaps it was because it was too big, but with the way the dress hung on me, it make me look VERY thick-waisted - something I rarely encounter. The dress was also too long, but I expected that with my height - however, unlike the Fondant Tea Dress, this one would be a little trickier to shorten to the appropriate length. It was gorgeously made and looked stunning on the hanger, but this dress would be better suited to a less petite frame.
+10points
10 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 13 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
By: chic
Date:August 12, 2011
Age:26-30
Body Type:Curvy all over

Overall very pretty!

Thicker than expected all over, which added a little bulk. VERY well made and good quality! This dress fit well and won't need alterations; however, I am 5'4" and this was designed with a taller woman in mind- it is a longer tealength on me (mid calves). Still gorgeous and will work well with high heels!
+3points
3 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 14 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: YellowK
Date:August 2, 2011
Location:Chicago
Age:26-30
Body Type:Straight and narrow
Height:5'11"

Amazing.

I love, LOVE this dress! After reading reviews, I decided to size down, and it fit wonderfully. The straps are still a bit loose, but it's a pretty minor alteration.
+4points
4 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 15 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: TribecaBride
Date:July 2, 2011
Location:Brooklyn
Age:31-35
Body Type:Curvy all over
Height:5'4"

Absolutely Perfect

I cannot get over how unbelievably perfect this dress is on me. It's my dream silhouette (wide v-neck, full flared skirt, tea length,) and when I tried it on, absolutely nothing had to be tweaked or changed.
I am a 5'4" curvy (34E), size 12 with a relatively short torso. The waist hit me in exactly the right spot, the straps were the correct length, and there was none of the usual gaping in the armholes that we busty girls generally have to contend with fixing.
The v-neckline hit is a flattering spot-not too high or too low. You can also wear a totally normal bra with it. (Balconnet with wide-set straps would probably be best). No uncomfortable strapless/backless corset needed!
The skirt hit me about mid-calf, so I'd definitely recommend heels on the higher side if you're of average height.
The details are even prettier in real-life, and the wrap detailing combined with the silhouette is so flattering. (A friend actually squealed, "OMG your waist is so tiny!" not something a size 12 usually hears.)
The dress was packed with such care--keepsake box within a tyvek mailer, linen garment bag, wooden hanger). I am positively thrilled with this dress and cannot wait to wear it on my wedding day.
+18points
18 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 16 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: KathPorter
Date:June 8, 2011
Location:Alaska
Age:Under 25
Body Type:Smaller on bottom
Height:5'5"

Beautifully fitting, lovely material

I have been coveting this dress since February 14th and was basically just waiting to get engaged before I actually ordered it and tried it on. It fits like a glove on me. I am pretty busty and was really looking for something that would offer enough support without making me look too conservative. It's just enough to expose my collarbones and not so much that there is too much cleavage. I am a size 8 in pretty much everything and it really just fits great. The back is AMAZING. Love the bow that is off to the side! I have to get it hemmed at the bottom, it looks much shorter on the statuesque model than it does on me, but other than that, I have to do NO alterations! Also, the tulle is wonderful, keeps the dress's shape, but shifts and moves nicely. Though i'd not recommend this dress to a friend (she doesn't need to wear MY dress!!) I would definitely recommend it to other shoppers.
+8points
8 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 17 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
By: Tsitsi
Date:May 3, 2011
Location:Chicago Il
Age:26-30
Body Type:Smaller on top

Great, but not for me

I wear a size 4 in most brands, and this dress in a 4 was perfect. Unfortunatly, I felt like it was too heavy for our outside summer wedding. Also I'm 5'3" and felt like the gown was not only too long, which I expect, but that the torso was too long as well. The detailing on the back with the knotted fabric, and the wrap front, was so pretty, but I felt a little swallowed up in it. I would definetly recommend this dress to someone a little taller, and bigger all around. The pinwheels are such a sweet addition that I'm sad to miss out on this dress- but am really happy with the fondant tea dress! : )
+3points
3 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 18 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
By: Krysten
Date:April 14, 2011
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:Under 25
Body Type:Smaller on top
Height:5'5"

Adorable

This was an ADORABLE gown. The top fit me perfectly and it is hard to find something like that with a small bust. The only thing I didn't like was the stiffness of the tulle and how big it was all around. I opted out of short dress even though I was really thinking about it. It is a super cute dress though.
+2points
2 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 19 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall rating 
By: Posey
Date:March 31, 2011
Location:Ithaca
Age:26-30
Body Type:Curvy all over
Height:5'5"

Runs large!

I am a solid size 8 in everything, and my measurements fit their chart for an 8, but this dress was baggy on me. Beautiful otherwise, nice detailing and lovely weight and movement to it. But if you are at all on the fence in terms of sizes, consider ordering a size down! Especially since shipping is not free on exchanges . . .
+10points
11 people found this helpful, did you?
Review 20 for Pinwheel Tea Dress
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall rating 
By: MollyJoy
Date:March 30, 2011
Location:Parker, CO
Age:Under 25
Body Type:Curvy all over
Height:5'7"

Flattering and Adorable!

This was the dress all other dresses were compared to in my mind. I finally ordered it and immediately after putting it on, I knew it was perfect! The waist is very flattering and I love the length! I would like to see if I can have it tailored so it's a little bit shorter (I'm 5'7" and I got a size 8- it hits me mid calf and I would LOVE it if it could be close to my knee) and if the straps could be a little bit less wide. Otherwise I'm 100% happy with this dress! I would definitely recommend it to anyone!
+4points
4 people found this helpful, did you?
1 2 next>>